Mansion House

Doncaster's elegant Mansion House, a focus for civic pride, has dominated the High Street for over 250 years. It is one of only four surviving civic Mansion Houses in the country. The first was built by the corporation of Newcastle upon Tyne in 1691, but was demolished in the redevelopment of the town centre in the mid-nineteenth century. York began its own Mansion House in 1725, followed by London in 1739 and finally by Bristol in 1783.

The Bristol Mansion House was built solely as a home for the mayor and the Mansion Houses of London and York provided accommodation for the mayor as one of their functions. Doncaster Mansion House, however, was designed as a place for corporate entertaining and, although there were several rooms to provide living accommodation, the house was never intended as a residence for the mayor in his year of office, although a few mayors made use of the rooms for this purpose.

In these documents, we take a tour of the Doncaster Mansion House and look into some aspects of its history. The documents use specially-commissioned photographs of the Mansion House, old engravings, and plates from the book which its architect published in 1751 to advertise his achievement. This book is James Paine's Plans, Elevations, Sections and other Ornaments of the Mansion House belonging to the Corporation of Doncaster. A copy of the book can be seen at Doncaster Archives. The book was reprinted in 2002 by Hull Academic Press. A copy of this reprint is to be found at Doncaster Archives and at the Local History Library in the Doncaster Central Library.

Afternoon Tea and Tea Dance Dates

Afternoon Teas will take place on the following dates from 12noon-4pm and are priced £14.00 per person. To book tickets please contact or visit Tourist Information Centre, 01302 734309.

  • Friday 17th July 
  • Saturday 1st August (Yorkshire Day)
  • Friday 21st August
  • Friday 18th September
  • Friday 23rd October
  • Friday 13th November
  • Friday 11th December

The Tea Dances are held between 2-4pm on the dates listed below and are priced £3.50 per person which is payable at the door.

  • Tuesday 28th July
  • Tuesday 25th August
  • Tuesday 22nd September
  • Tuesday 20th October
  • Tuesday 17th November
  • Tuesday 15th December

To purchase tickets for the Tea Dances contact The Mansion House on 01302 734032.

Open Days

Open days are held between 10-2 pm on the dates listed below and admission is free.

  • Friday 10th July
  • Friday 31st July
  • Friday 14th August
  • Friday 28th August 
  • Friday 11th September (Heritage Open Day)
  • Saturday 12th September (Heritage Open Day)

Facilities

Afternoon Tea / Dinner Dances
Weddings
Functions, Events and Meeting facilities

Location

Located on the High Street in the heart of Doncaster Town Centre.