Cusworth Hall is a beautiful Georgian country house set in acres of landscaped grounds. Built by architect George Platt between 1740 and 1744 for local land owner William Wrightson, it remained the family home until 1952.
Cusworth Hall was the home of the Wrightson, or Battie-Wrightson, family until 1952. The celebrated atchitect James Paine was commissioned in 1749 to add two wings to the building to house a chapel and a library. A further extension was added in 1907, when Lady Isabella Battie-Wrightson added a New Dining Room and servants' wing.
In 1952, Robert Cecil Battie-Wrightson died at Cusworth Hall. As he left no heirs, the hall and its contents were left to his sister Mrs Pearse. Faced with huge death duties, and little desire to keep the hall, Mrs Pearse sold the entire contents at publiic auction over a period of nine days. She eventually sold the hall and grounds to Doncaster Rural Council, and the hall began a new chapter in its history in 1967, when it opened as an industrial museum.
Between 1974 and 2005 the museum was known as The Museum of South Yorkshire Life. Following a large Heritage Lottery Fund grant, the site re-opened to the public in 2007 as Cusworth Hall, Museum and Park. The interior of the building has been transformed, while stunning ceiling paintings in the chapel were uncovered and restored to their original glory.